Rhinos to host 2018 Thorne Cup championship in April

Photo Courtesy: @el_paso_rhinos / IG

For the third time in their 12-year history, the El Paso Rhinos have been selected to host the Thorne Cup championship.

Succeeding Ogden, the 2017 location, the Sun City will welcome five teams from around the country for the Western States Hockey League's annual end-of-season tournament.

Tentatively, round-robin play will begin on April 10 and continue through April 12. The semifinals will be played on April 13, and the tournament will conclude with the championship game on April 14.

As the host team, the Rhinos are guaranteed three games.

"We are excited to have teams from around the country experience the hospitality of the Sun City," said head coach Cory Herman. "We're also thankful to have the support of El Paso behind us as we make a run for the Thorne Cup here in Rhino Country."

The last time El Paso hosted the Thorne Cup, the Rhinos topped the Idaho Steelheads to win the championship on home ice.

With a record of 28-1 this season, the Rhinos will look to repeat 2014’s outcome and hoist the 2018 Thorne Cup in Rhino Country. Another Thorne Cup would give the Rhinos three league titles in addition to their 2014 national championship.

Tickets for all Thorne Cup games go on sale March 1.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off